Cationic antimicrobial peptides as novel alternatives to antibiotics
      Diseases caused by bacteria were the most prevalent and severe diseases in modern animal agriculture. To prevent and control animal bacterial diseases, antibiotics have been used in feeds as a core component of feed additives since 1950`s, but their uses as routine feed additives have been banned in many countries up till noweg. European Union from 2006, Japan from 2008 and Republic of Korea from 2011, because of public concern over possible antibiotic residual effects and the development of drug-resistant bacteria. This clearly highlights the need for new antibacterial agents with fundamentally different modes of action than those of traditional antibiotics. The enormous demand has triggered worldwide efforts in developing novel antibacterial alternatives (Parisien et al. 2008).

Probiotics, prebiotics, acidifying agent, combined enzymes, high concentration of copper and zinc, bacterin, yolk antibody and some Chinese herbal medicines have been introduced as alternatives to antibiotics; however, their effects on animal production are not consistent, resulting in uncertainties and scepticism for development of the products (Jin et al., 1997). Cationic antimicrobial peptides (CAMP) are a promising family of natural antimicrobials as alternatives to antibioticsParisien et al., 2008.

Compared with the currently used antibiotics, CAMP have the advantages as follows:

() The number of CAMP found has been up to 2253 (200 from bacteria295 from plants and 1699 from animals)http://aps.unmc.edu/AP/main.php , accessed August, 2013. They are of vast diversity in term of size, structure, mode of action and specificity, so are rich sources for development of alternatives to antibiotics.

() They are safer to both animals and consumers, because they do not enter the systemic circulation after feeding, without residues in animal productsWakabayashi et al., 2004); they are low in immunogenicity and toxicity to eukaryotic cells (Vaucher et al., 2011).

 () The membrane-active mechanism of action Fig. 1 make it rather difficult for bacteria to become resistant to them (Hancock et al., 2000).

() They could neutralize endotoxins (lipopolysaccharide from Gram-negative bacteria, and lipoteichoic acid and peptidoglycan from Gram-positive bacteria) and inhibit the production of cytokines such as TNF-a and IL-6 by macrophages, subsequently inhibit septic shock during bacterial infections, and promote voluntary feed intakeFig. 2(Hancock et al., 2000).

() They could promote growth of intestinal villiWen et al., 2012).

() Some pathogenic bacteria could down-regulate the expression of genes for intestinal CAMP productionMeade et al., 2009), then disrupt the intestinal barrier functionFig. 3 and Fig. 4(Koslowski et al., 2010) and cause infection, but sufficient supplementation of CAMP could effectively eliminate the pathogens and promote the heath and growth of animals.

Fig. 1. The membrane-active mechanism of action of cationic antimicrobial peptides.

Fig. 2.  Model outlining the major events in induction of sepsis by bacteria and the points at which cationic peptides are proposed to intervene (Hancock et al., 2000).

Fig. 3. Schematic diagram of a small intestinal crypt and its intestinal barrier function (Koslowski et al., 2010).

 

Fig. 4. Schematic diagram of intestinal barrier function

Tel:086-20-36790101, 086-20-36790102   Fax:086-20-36790103  E-mail:natucin@gzbestide.com
© Copyright 2012-2013 Guangzhou Bestide Bio-Science and Technology Co., Ltd. All rights reserved
<友情连结> 手机版 金百利国际娱乐 亚虎国际娱乐 永利在线娱乐

抗微生物阳离子肽可作饲用抗生素替代品
细菌性疾病是现代动物饲养业中最为广泛最为严重的一种疾病。为防治动物细菌性疾病,自20世纪50年代起抗生素就已成为动物预混料的核心成分。现全球每年消耗的抗生素总量中绝大多数是用于食用动物身上的。抗生素在保证动物健康、提高饲料转化率、促进动物生长和提高经济效益方面曾经起着非常重要的作用。但是,随着抗生素在动物饲养业上广泛长期应用,抗生素作饲用已呈现诸多弊端(Jin等,1997),如使动物产生依赖性而限制了动物免疫机能的发挥,降低动物的免疫力和抗病力;打破动物体内肠道的微生态平衡,造成病原菌过度繁殖而致病;在动物产品中残留,危害人的健康;使病原菌产生耐药性而降低其应用效果;引发耐药菌扩散而造成更大的公共安全问题。因此,欧盟已从2006年、日本从2008年、韩国从2011年相继出台强制性政策禁止抗生素在饲料中的使用;我国农业部也计划全面禁止在动物饲料中添加抗生素。现全世界正努力地研发饲用抗生素的替代品(Parisien等,2008)。

曾用作为饲用抗生素替代品的有益生菌、化学益生素(寡糖类)酸化剂、高铜高锌、一些中草药及一些植物的提取物、卵黄抗体、菌苗、复合酶添加剂等,但仅依这些替代品尚难维持处于现代动物饲养模式下的动物健康生长(Jin等,1997)。至今,被认为最有前途的饲用抗生素替代品是抗微生物阳离子肽(Cationic antimicrobial peptides, CAMP) Parisien等,2008

相对于传统抗生素,CAMP的应用具有如下优点:

1、来源广,可选用的种类众多,如至今已知序列的CAMP已有2253(200种来源于细菌,295来源于植物,1699来源于动物)http://aps.unmc.edu/AP/main.php 201384检索),为抗生素替代品研发提供了丰富的资源。

2对动物和动物食品消费者具较好的安全性,因为它们属于生物大分子,不能透过动物肠道进入动物体循环,不残留于动物体上Wakabayashi 等,2004)对动物无免疫原性 (Vaucher等,2011);因真核生物细胞(肿瘤细胞除外)膜表面缺乏负电性脂类而抗CAMP(Hancock等,2000),故对动物具低毒性(Vaucher 等,2011)

3、作用于细菌细胞膜(图1)而难引发耐药菌的产生(Hancock等,2000)

4、能结合或中和细菌内毒素,抑制炎症和自体免疫的发生,减少动物发热症而促进动物采食(图2(Hancock等,2000)

5促进小肠绒毛的生长(Wen, 2012)

7、一些烈性病原菌可下调宿主动物肠道内源CAMP(图3)基因的表达(Meade等,2009Koslowski等,2010),突破动物肠道物理屏障(图4)而入侵动物体引发疾病,但添加到饲粮中的足量CAMP可有效清除这些烈性病原菌而对动物宿主起保健作用Meade等,2009)

 

 

       图1. 抗微生物阳离子肽(CAMP)的杀菌模式 

  

     2. CAMP抗炎症作用机理(Hancock等,2000)  

    

          3. 动物肠道内源性CAMP的防御功能   

     

    4.肠细胞的物理屏障

地址:广东省广州市白云区江高大田勤星路口1号  电话:020-36790101,36790102   传真:020-36790103  E-mail:natucin@gzbestide.com
© Copyright 2012-2013 望海国际娱乐 版权所有
<友情连结> 手机版 金百利国际娱乐 亚虎国际娱乐 永利在线娱乐